Near misses and low turnout


Ten votes. That’s all that separated Carson Warrener, who just missed being elected to council in Ward 6 Monday night, and sixth place finisher Amy Finn, an incumbent who grabbed the final council spot for Chatham.

Brock McGregor and MIchael Bondy garnered the most votes and returned to office. Newcomer Conor Allin placed third, while Marjorie Crew earned re-election, and Alysson Storey, who finished second in the mayoral race in 2018, also was elected to represent Chatham.

Finn squeaked in with 3,900 votes, while Warrener went home with 3,890.

Incumbent Karen Kirkwood-Whyte was defeated.

This in an election where just 30.56 per cent of the electorate bothered to cast their ballot.

Here’s who was elected in the other wards. Note, Aaron Hall and Carmen McGregor were acclaimed in Ward 5; incumbents are marked with (i):

Ward 1: Melissa Harrigan (i) and Lauren Anderson

Ward 2: Anthony Ceccacci (i), Trevor Thompson(i) and Ryan Doyle

Ward 3: Steve Pinsonneault (i) and John Wright (i)

Ward 4: Jamie McGraill (i) and Rhonda Jubenville

For full results click here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here