School board leadership unchanged



Both the Catholic and public school boards opted to go with experience when choosing their board of trustees for the coming year.

There were no changes last week to top board leadership roles at either board, with both organizations hosting the first meetings of the year.

John Van Heck was acclaimed as St. Clair Catholic District School Board chair Dec. 7, with Mat Roop acclaimed as vice-chair.

Van Heck was first elected to the board as a trustee in 2006 and has held the top post since 2016. Roop served as trustee for five years beginning in 2014, before being chosen as vice-chair in 2019.

Over at the Lambton Kent District School Board, the two top trustee spots stayed the same.

Randy Campbell was re-elected LKDSB chair, with Derek Robertson voted in for another term as vice-chair.

Campbell has served as a school board public trustee since 2006 and was elected chair for 2020-2021, serving two previous terms as the board’s vice-chair.

Robertson was elected to the LKDSB in 2018 and became vice-chair for the first time in 2020-2021.

Van Heck extended his appreciation to staff across the district for “all that they do” to support families.

“God holds us in his hands and has gifted us with an exceptionally faith-filled and talented senior leadership team.”

Campbell expressed appreciation for the collaborative efforts of parents and educators over the past year.

“I appreciate the support of the board and I look forward to continuing to lead the board of trustees as chair,” said Campbell. “As we continue to be challenged by the pandemic, we will ensure that the best interest of students, staff and parents/guardians are at the forefront of our decision making.”

A special presentation was also made at the Catholic board meeting as long-time trustee Linda Ward was recognized for 30 years of service.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here