Another busy week for new nominees


And then there were five.

Harold Atkinson, a Morpeth resident, recently filed his papers to run for mayor this fall.

As well, Melissa Harrigan announced she plans to run in Ward 1, West Kent, while Mary Clare Latimer seeks a seat as a councillor for Ward 2, South Kent.

Familiar faces Shannon Sasseville and Ruth Ann Dodman announced they will seek re-election for Chatham, Ward 6, representation on the public school board.

Derek Robertson, who will not run for re-election to municipal council, is also seeking a Ward 6 trustee posting.

They join mayoral hopefuls Darrin Canniff, Robert Power and Alysson Storey, who will go up against incumbent Randy Hope.

Council hopefuls in Ward 1, West Kent, are incumbents Bryon Fluker and Mark Authier, as well as Mark Pastorius.

For Ward 2, South Kent, Art Stirling, Henry Svec and incumbents Frank Vercouteren and Trevor Thompson have announced they are running.

In Ward 3, East Kent, incumbents David VanDamme and Steve Pinsonneault have signed up to do it again.

As for Ward 4, North Kent, Dylan McLay, Steven Scott, Patricia Sylvain and Joey Cyples announced their intentions to run.

Up in Ward 5, Wallaceburg, Aaron Hall, Randy McNeil, Chris Glassford, Nicolas Cadotte and incumbent Carmen McGregor have filed their papers.

And in Ward 6, Chatham, incumbents Doug Sulman, Brock McGregor and Michael Bondy, Marjorie Crew, Larry Vellinga, James Thompson, Ryan Jackson; Chris June, Kirk Hooker, Drew Simpson, Les Banks and Karen Kirkwood-Whyte are running.

Louise Aitken, David Argenti, John Mrnik, Bob Demers, Pierre Lambert, Brenda Rumble and John Van Heck are seeking positions as school board trustees.

Meanwhile, John Cryderman has filed to be recognized as a potential third-party advertiser.

This list is complete as of July 16.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here