Spectra Energy awards more than $160,000 in scholarships


Spectra logoThree Chatham students have been among eight selected by Union Gas parent company Spectra Energy Corp to receive up to $5,000 per year in scholarship funds toward undergraduate study at an accredited college or university in the U.S. or Canada.

Megan Canniff, a student at Ursuline College Chatham and the daughter of Darrin and Christine Canniff, Sarah Donais, a student at Chatham-Kent Secondary School and the daughter of Shelia Martin and Mackenzie King, a student at Ursuline College Chatham and the daughter of Jason and Marilee King were selected.

Other recipients were from Sarnia, Kitchener, Fort John, B.C., New Glasgow Nova Scotia and Thunder Bay.

“At Union Gas, we believe that investing in education creates lasting benefits for people and communities,” said Andrea Seguin, district manager, Union Gas. “We’re proud of the skill and dedication these students have exhibited and wish them continued success as they learn and grow.”

Recipients under the Spectra Energy Scholars Program are graduating high school/secondary school seniors and are chosen annually by an independent committee of judges. The committee selects recipients based on their performance in academics, leadership and participation in school and community activities, honors and awards, work experience and financial need. The scholarships will provide the students up to $20,000 during their four years of undergraduate study.

“Spectra Energy is proud to continue our tradition of offering a scholarship program for the children of our employees. This investment in the future of our employees’ children exemplifies our commitment to education and to our most important asset: our team members,” said Greg Ebel, chief executive officer of Spectra Energy. “This year’s scholarship recipients are well-rounded, demonstrating excellence in education and a strong commitment to community — two qualities we value at Spectra Energy.”

Two additional students in Brantford and London were recognized for their achievements and will each receive a one-time, $2,500 scholarship.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here